Author Topic: ArmA2 OA vs Drive Speeds  (Read 1369 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

[TKC]Wesker

  • ArmA's Most Wanted
  • The Central Committee
  • Master Heckler
  • *
  • Posts: 2209
  • The Illusive Man
    • View Profile
    • TKC Tube
ArmA2 OA vs Drive Speeds
« on: January 21, 2011, 03:12:01 pm »



Here is a little myth I read about every now and again from SDD supremacists on BI Forum.
"Running ArmA2 from a Solid-State Drive device will give you an instant 10fps boost"

So here is a test that anyone can do!
Grab a 8GB or more USB stick and copy & paste ArmA2 OA onto it.

Here I have
Lexar USB stick         vs      Samsung Spin Point F3 HDD
     

Some huge differences here with the storage speed.
The HDD has an average transfer rate of 119 MB/sec
The USB Dongle has a pissy average transfer rate of 16 MB/sec
Access time is definitely a strong point for the dongle however ArmA uses large files so I don't think it's too relevant to this test.


I will be running ArmA2 OA on mostly high settings at 720 res.


So using the editor I have set up a Zarg map with 27 idle units.
I'll load into the map with the HDD

HDD Result = 32fps

Then I load in with the USB Stick.

USB Result = 32fps

Seems there was absolutely no difference while standing around on an idle map. Only difference was the game & map loading time.
So I decided to add a bit of speed to things.

I'll now fly an A10 over the city with 27 men on the ground. I will do my very best to take the screen shots at the very same point when the A10 passes over the city at 475mph.


HDD Result = 66fps



USB Result = 68fps


Conclusion: Is getting the latest faster SDD going to make a difference on ArmA's frame rate? I'd say NO.
If there was no difference in frame rate from a HDD that is 7x faster than an inferior USB dongle then it's very highly doubtful.


Feel free to paste this on Bi Forum.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2011, 12:56:39 am by [TKC]Wesker »

The Illusive Man

Pride

  • Klass Klown
  • ***
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
Re: ArmA2 OA vs Drive Speeds
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 05:03:35 pm »
Usually my game bogs down the longer into it I play, which is either a testament to their shit coding skills, or a sign to stop playing.

They had the right idea BI, they just implemented it so very wrong.

MrMedic

  • MasstKer
  • ********
  • Posts: 8900
  • programmer/dev/software engineer
    • View Profile
Re: ArmA2 OA vs Drive Speeds
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 05:40:16 pm »
i get exactly that , longer it is played the slower it becomes , also for some reason if i leave it unattended for longer than 5 minutes with an ai driving across terrain the game becomes unplayable with graphics lag ..


i usually get higher fps than what wesker seems to get so it is not an issue with my cards more likely the shit bi programming team.
EnCoded Message: i3iy9yl8kr2xf3g2Txs3pr6ye3ya7jg5ty2z

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=62_7-AYfdkQ
you need a paypal account for the private versions.

Website:
http://bit.ly/medic101

Teamspeak 3: 85.236.101.5:10157

M. O.

  • Administrator
  • MasstKer
  • *
  • Posts: 9184
    • View Profile
    • http://www.tkc-community.net
Re: ArmA2 OA vs Drive Speeds
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2011, 08:32:01 pm »
Good research, I think you should make some tests inside a village where there are loads of different textures with max texture size. That would rule out things definitely. I used to get Texture/LOD lag there, and I think it could be HDD based in some way, but it looks like the game goes on as usual as textures load (and get sharper).
Heckling is an art, and game hacking a science.

[TKC]Wesker

  • ArmA's Most Wanted
  • The Central Committee
  • Master Heckler
  • *
  • Posts: 2209
  • The Illusive Man
    • View Profile
    • TKC Tube
Re: ArmA2 OA vs Drive Speeds
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2011, 10:06:08 pm »
Good research, I think you should make some tests inside a village where there are loads of different textures with max texture size. That would rule out things definitely. I used to get Texture/LOD lag there, and I think it could be HDD based in some way, but it looks like the game goes on as usual as textures load (and get sharper).
Might have something to do with my 4GB of memory and 890GB of video memory caching it all before the mission starts.

I'll have a go at spamming diff units and maybe see how a multi players goes.

The Illusive Man

ZOldDude

  • The Unknown Rank!
  • Administrator
  • MasstKer
  • *
  • Posts: 20874
  • Old School TKC
    • View Profile
    • Admin
Re: ArmA2 OA vs Drive Speeds
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2011, 01:49:59 am »
i get exactly that , longer it is played the slower it becomes ,
Memory leak.

*While we crash and burn, small, low tech, agrarian societies such as the Hmong in the mountains of Laos will continue on without so much as blinking an eye.*