Author Topic: Hosting servers?  (Read 1679 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

The Omen

  • Guest
Hosting servers?
« on: December 04, 2006, 05:33:39 am »
Hosting LAN/INTERNET Server?

Today i was about hosting a LAN server but that did not  work.
Its a error messenger coming up: key Disable.

So is there anyway to host a server(LAN/INTERNET) whit the downloaded version?

Thanks, TO. 

[TKC]Wesker

  • ArmA's Most Wanted
  • The Central Committee
  • Master Heckler
  • *
  • Posts: 2209
  • The Illusive Man
    • View Profile
    • TKC Tube
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2006, 06:16:29 am »
You can either block

armedass.ms12.gamespy.com
armedass.master.gamespy.com
armedass.available.gamespy.com

or

207.38.11.34

it's your choice

personally I put
Code: [Select]
127.0.0.1     armedass.ms12.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1     armedass.master.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1     armedass.available.gamespy.com
into my host file

The Illusive Man

ZOldDude

  • The Unknown Rank!
  • Administrator
  • MasstKer
  • *
  • Posts: 20874
  • Old School TKC
    • View Profile
    • Admin
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2006, 12:01:51 pm »
You can either block

armedass.ms12.gamespy.com
armedass.master.gamespy.com
armedass.available.gamespy.com

or

207.38.11.34

it's your choice

personally I put
Code: [Select]
127.0.0.1     armedass.ms12.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1     armedass.master.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1     armedass.available.gamespy.com
into my host file

A very smart move.
Thinking along these lines will allow you to make a no-cd-key server.
Pay note to the  armedass.master.gamespy.com  address.

*While we crash and burn, small, low tech, agrarian societies such as the Hmong in the mountains of Laos will continue on without so much as blinking an eye.*

GrunT

  • Poptart
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2006, 01:41:45 pm »
You can either block

armedass.ms12.gamespy.com
armedass.master.gamespy.com
armedass.available.gamespy.com

or

207.38.11.34

it's your choice

personally I put
Code: [Select]
127.0.0.1     armedass.ms12.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1     armedass.master.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1     armedass.available.gamespy.com
into my host file


Can u send me copy of your host.cfg plz i sent u the kys u wanted thx..GrunT

[TKC]Wesker

  • ArmA's Most Wanted
  • The Central Committee
  • Master Heckler
  • *
  • Posts: 2209
  • The Illusive Man
    • View Profile
    • TKC Tube
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2006, 03:09:06 pm »
My host file contains ALOT of other sites that I've had blocked (53,680 of them to be precise)
Instead I will explain how to do it because it's quite simple

1) go into
C:\windows\system32\drivers\ect

2) open the file "HOSTS" with notepad

3) goto the bottom of the page and paste what you want blocked

Code: [Select]
127.0.0.1     armedass.ms12.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1     armedass.master.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1     armedass.available.gamespy.com

4) save it


I'm gonna make a new modified HOSTS file anyway and see if I can get it hosted here
« Last Edit: December 04, 2006, 06:21:10 pm by Wesker »

The Illusive Man

The Omen

  • Guest
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2006, 05:38:38 pm »
Nice, thanks alot!

GrunT

  • Poptart
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2006, 01:18:38 am »
sweet....thx man


GrunT

The Omen

  • Guest
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2006, 12:50:05 pm »
I  was searching for the HOST file but didnt find it  :?
And i went to the C/WINDOWS/SYSTEM32/DRIVERS/ETC/ and searched here.. nothing found.

w8.. I found it!  :lol: :P

Thanks, TO.

The Omen

  • Guest
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2006, 05:15:58 pm »
Hehe, i found a key(German one)
And gave it to my brother and when we was about play LAN the whole game was Germany! LoLz

So if you have CHECH version and instal whit german key you get german version... Nice! :P

Thanks, TO.

[TKC]Wesker

  • ArmA's Most Wanted
  • The Central Committee
  • Master Heckler
  • *
  • Posts: 2209
  • The Illusive Man
    • View Profile
    • TKC Tube
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2006, 06:10:14 pm »
So if you have CHECH version and instal whit german key you get german version.
That isn't right
I checked the install files in Czech version. No german language set here.
You must have got the German version of the game

The Illusive Man

The Omen

  • Guest
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2006, 11:55:59 pm »
Have you instaled the CHECH version whit a German key?

If not, try it! :P I did it and it was the CHECH version but when i instaled whit german key it was german language.

yogo

  • Relentless Teamkiller
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Hosting servers?
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2006, 02:06:56 am »
jup thats true...also checked the german key coz i wanted 2 install the patch.
but theres also a czech cracked patch out now  :icon_idiot