Author Topic: weird bug  (Read 804 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

joeb1

  • Klass Klown
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • View Profile
weird bug
« on: September 12, 2005, 04:29:53 am »
after unpacking and repacking the .cbf file with total commander my game no longer starts...

at the graphics setting screen which loads up before the game starts, all the text next to the checkmarks is just blanked out, i can see the the video card and resolution text, thats it

the game doesnt run, the screen brightness flickers for a minute and thats it

all i did was edit the weaps.txt, anyone else have a problem running the game after editing?

Jimmy

  • Insane Joker
  • ****
  • Posts: 618
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jimmyschot.com
weird bug
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2005, 04:32:47 am »
Are you sure you repacked exaclt the same data that you have unpacked?

your repacked cbf should be about 620+ mb.

joeb1

  • Klass Klown
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • View Profile
weird bug
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2005, 04:35:14 am »
Quote from: [TKC]LaVaPlaToZz
Are you sure you repacked exaclt the same data that you have unpacked?

your repacked cbf should be about 620+ mb.


i just selected the directory and repacked it

i just tried using the original cbf file and the game loads...wtf?

and yes the repacked cbf file is over 600 mb

Jimmy

  • Insane Joker
  • ****
  • Posts: 618
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jimmyschot.com
weird bug
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2005, 04:38:24 am »
hmm... what you are describing is mostly the case of missing files...
Maybe something went wrong while packing in, try it again will work perhaps.

joeb1

  • Klass Klown
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • View Profile
weird bug
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2005, 04:54:04 am »
i just unpacked and repacked the cbf file without any changes and i have the same problem

this means its a problem with repacking the file, damn, i bet this is one of those weird bugs that i am the only one to experience :?:

joeb1

  • Klass Klown
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
    • View Profile
weird bug
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2005, 05:09:04 am »
i got it to work, by individually selecting the subdirectories to pack into a single file and unchecking "also pack path names [only recursed]" only then did it pack a .cbf file that works

the strange thing is that it should have packed subdirs even before, and the file size is slightly different, but only by a few kb???

Jimmy

  • Insane Joker
  • ****
  • Posts: 618
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jimmyschot.com
weird bug
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2005, 03:04:12 pm »
Quote from: joeb1
i got it to work, by individually selecting the subdirectories to pack into a single file and unchecking "also pack path names [only recursed]" only then did it pack a .cbf file that works

the strange thing is that it should have packed subdirs even before, and the file size is slightly different, but only by a few kb???


the Ptero engine needs to read all the submaps in the cbf aswell, otherwise it doesnt know where the data is.