Author Topic: Editing your Space engineer files for fun!  (Read 7147 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kalorexoc

  • Relentless Teamkiller
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Editing your Space engineer files for fun!
« on: May 18, 2014, 01:10:54 pm »
So, after a little poking around in the games files, i came across what is pretty much the 'meat and potatoes' of the game timers/requirements for build. SO... here we go:

Go to: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\SpaceEngineers\Content\Data
(or whatever directory space engineers is installed)

and open up the file called: cubeblock.sbc. Once you have the file open, you'll notice almost instantly it categorizes and stores all the games requirement features for building every item in-game.
So what can we do? EVERYTHING!

First lets start with a easy trick. Let's make it so we can have refineries that are almost instantly built, and consume little to no power, and crank out the most ore efficiently, and in an expeditious manner.
Search the file for refinery. Once you have found it, look for the following, and change the values accordingly:

<BuildTimeSeconds>70</BuildTimeSeconds>
Change 70 to 5

<StandbyPowerConsumption>0.001</StandbyPowerConsumption>
change 0.001 to 0

<OperationalPowerConsumption>0.56</OperationalPowerConsumption>
change 0.56 to 0

<RefineSpeed>1.3</RefineSpeed>
change 1.3 to 10

<MaterialEfficiency>0.8</MaterialEfficiency>
Change 0.8 to 1



This method will work on all items in the file.

Additionally, while looking for the newest rounded conveyor system, I found 'hidden' items that are in the file, just not released yet? most of them are things such as "LargeRoundArmor_Slope" etc, etc...
BUT! you can make these accessible by looking for the string:
<Public>false</Public>
and change it to <Public>true</Public>




Now, lets edit our Ore system, so that we can get the most out of the drudgery of mining. Lets change our Uranium ore, to give us a more satisfying feel. So, lets make it so 1 ore of Uranium, nets you 10 Uranium ingots, after refining.

Stay in the same folder, as before, except this time, open up the Blueprints.sbc file.

do a search in the file for Uranium. You should get this:

Code: [Select]
/>
      <BaseProductionTimeInSeconds>4</BaseProductionTimeInSeconds>
    </Blueprint>
    <Blueprint>
      <Prerequisites>
        <Item Amount="1" TypeId="Ore" SubtypeId="Uranium" />
      </Prerequisites>
      <Result Amount="0.007" TypeId="Ingot" SubtypeId="Uranium"

Start with:

"<Result Amount="0.007" TypeId="Ingot" SubtypeId="Uranium" />"
And change 0.007 to 10
Now one ore of uranium gets you 10 uranium ingots.

"<BaseProductionTimeInSeconds>4</BaseProductionTimeInSeconds>"
and change4 to 0.01
Now every 0.01 point of Uranium ingot is refined every 0.01 second.



Want your thruster to be game-breakingly fast? Follow this:

Go back to your CubicBlocks.sbc file and search for "Thrust. (I chose small thruster for this guide) Scroll down to whichever type of thruster you want to beef up, and edit the following:

<FlameScale>0.2</FlameScale>
Change 0.2 to 2
This will make your flames shoot very far out!

<ForceMagnitude>12000</ForceMagnitude>
Change 12000 to 60000
This will make your Thruster much, much more powerful.

<MaxPowerConsumption>0.0336</MaxPowerConsumption>
Change 0.0336 to 0.0001
Much less power requirements!

<DamageAreaSize>0.125</DamageAreaSize>
Change 0.125 to 2
We need more thruster damage, now that we have a VERY big flame shooting out of it, don't we?  :icon_cool2



Additionally, you change the build requirements for the thruster, and for all items by searching for
Code: [Select]
<Components> under whatever item that it is you wish to edit.

For ease I am going to edit the component requirements for the Large thruster.
So, search the "Largethrust" entry. REMEMBER! with thrusters, and many other items as-well, they come in small and large.

Okay, so after searching for LargeThrust, I have this:
Code: [Select]
</Id>
      <DisplayName>DisplayName_Block_LargeThrust</DisplayName>
      <Icon>Textures\GUI\Icons\Cubes\thrust_large</Icon>
      <CubeSize>Large</CubeSize>
      <BlockTopology>TriangleMesh</BlockTopology>
      <Size x="3" y="2" z="4" />
      <ModelOffset x="0" y="0" z="0" />
      <Model>Models\Cubes\Large\ThrustLarge</Model>
      <Components>
        <Component Subtype="SteelPlate" Count="100" />
        <Component Subtype="Construction" Count="70" />
        <Component Subtype="LargeTube" Count="40" />
        <Component Subtype="Computer" Count="60" />
        <Component Subtype="Thrust" Count="960" />
        <Component Subtype="Construction" Count="30" />
        <Component Subtype="SteelPlate" Count="50" />
      </Components>
      <CriticalComponent Subtype="Thrust" Index="0" />
      <MountPoints>


Hmmm, well, lets change all of those "Component Subtype" numerical counts to 1.
So now it should look like:
Code: [Select]
<Components>
        <Component Subtype="SteelPlate" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="Construction" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="LargeTube" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="Computer" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="Thrust" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="Construction" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="SteelPlate" Count="1" />
      </Components>

Horray! now go break stuff!
« Last Edit: May 18, 2014, 02:19:18 pm by Kalorexoc »

ZOldDude

  • The Unknown Rank!
  • Administrator
  • MasstKer
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 20819
  • Old School TKC
    • View Profile
    • Admin
Re: Editing your Space engineer files for fun!
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2014, 02:25:38 pm »
So, after a little poking around in the games files, i came across what is pretty much the 'meat and potatoes' of the game timers/requirements for build. SO... here we go:

Go to: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\SpaceEngineers\Content\Data
(or whatever directory space engineers is installed)

and open up the file called: cubeblock.sbc. Once you have the file open, you'll notice almost instantly it categorizes and stores all the games requirement features for building every item in-game.
So what can we do? EVERYTHING!

First lets start with a easy trick. Let's make it so we can have refineries that are almost instantly built, and consume little to no power, and crank out the most ore efficiently, and in an expeditious manner.
Search the file for refinery. Once you have found it, look for the following, and change the values accordingly:

<BuildTimeSeconds>70</BuildTimeSeconds>
Change 70 to 5

<StandbyPowerConsumption>0.001</StandbyPowerConsumption>
change 0.001 to 0

<OperationalPowerConsumption>0.56</OperationalPowerConsumption>
change 0.56 to 0

<RefineSpeed>1.3</RefineSpeed>
change 1.3 to 10

<MaterialEfficiency>0.8</MaterialEfficiency>
Change 0.8 to 1



This method will work on all items in the file.

Additionally, while looking for the newest rounded conveyor system, I found 'hidden' items that are in the file, just not released yet? most of them are things such as "LargeRoundArmor_Slope" etc, etc...
BUT! you can make these accessible by looking for the string:
<Public>false</Public>
and change it to <Public>true</Public>




Now, lets edit our Ore system, so that we can get the most out of the drudgery of mining. Lets change our Uranium ore, to give us a more satisfying feel. So, lets make it so 1 ore of Uranium, nets you 10 Uranium ingots, after refining.

Stay in the same folder, as before, except this time, open up the Blueprints.sbc file.

do a search in the file for Uranium. You should get this:

Code: [Select]
/>
      <BaseProductionTimeInSeconds>4</BaseProductionTimeInSeconds>
    </Blueprint>
    <Blueprint>
      <Prerequisites>
        <Item Amount="1" TypeId="Ore" SubtypeId="Uranium" />
      </Prerequisites>
      <Result Amount="0.007" TypeId="Ingot" SubtypeId="Uranium"

Start with:

"<Result Amount="0.007" TypeId="Ingot" SubtypeId="Uranium" />"
And change 0.007 to 10
Now one ore of uranium gets you 10 uranium ingots.

"<BaseProductionTimeInSeconds>4</BaseProductionTimeInSeconds>"
and change4 to 0.01
Now every 0.01 point of Uranium ingot is refined every 0.01 second.



Want your thruster to be game-breakingly fast? Follow this:

Go back to your CubicBlocks.sbc file and search for "Thrust. (I chose small thruster for this guide) Scroll down to whichever type of thruster you want to beef up, and edit the following:

<FlameScale>0.2</FlameScale>
Change 0.2 to 2
This will make your flames shoot very far out!

<ForceMagnitude>12000</ForceMagnitude>
Change 12000 to 60000
This will make your Thruster much, much more powerful.

<MaxPowerConsumption>0.0336</MaxPowerConsumption>
Change 0.0336 to 0.0001
Much less power requirements!

<DamageAreaSize>0.125</DamageAreaSize>
Change 0.125 to 2
We need more thruster damage, now that we have a VERY big flame shooting out of it, don't we?  :icon_cool2



Additionally, you change the build requirements for the thruster, and for all items by searching for
Code: [Select]
<Components> under whatever item that it is you wish to edit.

For ease I am going to edit the component requirements for the Large thruster.
So, search the "Largethrust" entry. REMEMBER! with thrusters, and many other items as-well, they come in small and large.

Okay, so after searching for LargeThrust, I have this:
Code: [Select]
</Id>
      <DisplayName>DisplayName_Block_LargeThrust</DisplayName>
      <Icon>Textures\GUI\Icons\Cubes\thrust_large</Icon>
      <CubeSize>Large</CubeSize>
      <BlockTopology>TriangleMesh</BlockTopology>
      <Size x="3" y="2" z="4" />
      <ModelOffset x="0" y="0" z="0" />
      <Model>Models\Cubes\Large\ThrustLarge</Model>
      <Components>
        <Component Subtype="SteelPlate" Count="100" />
        <Component Subtype="Construction" Count="70" />
        <Component Subtype="LargeTube" Count="40" />
        <Component Subtype="Computer" Count="60" />
        <Component Subtype="Thrust" Count="960" />
        <Component Subtype="Construction" Count="30" />
        <Component Subtype="SteelPlate" Count="50" />
      </Components>
      <CriticalComponent Subtype="Thrust" Index="0" />
      <MountPoints>


Hmmm, well, lets change all of those "Component Subtype" numerical counts to 1.
So now it should look like:
Code: [Select]
<Components>
        <Component Subtype="SteelPlate" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="Construction" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="LargeTube" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="Computer" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="Thrust" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="Construction" Count="1" />
        <Component Subtype="SteelPlate" Count="1" />
      </Components>

Horray! now go break stuff!

I don't play online games for the past decade after I broke my back but it seems you are well into understanding the basics of "how" things work.

I have to finish my beer then hit the sack...you keep on keeping on Texas.

*While we crash and burn, small, low tech, agrarian societies such as the Hmong in the mountains of Laos will continue on without so much as blinking an eye.*

Kalorexoc

  • Relentless Teamkiller
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Editing your Space engineer files for fun!
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2014, 02:28:15 pm »
I have to finish my beer then hit the sack...you keep on keeping on Texas.

Right on man, thanks!

MrMedic

  • MasstKer
  • ********
  • Posts: 8900
  • programmer/dev/software engineer
    • View Profile
Re: Editing your Space engineer files for fun!
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2014, 07:47:23 pm »
Horray! now go break stuff!


thats the part we all like best .. :icon_laugh
EnCoded Message: i3iy9yl8kr2xf3g2Txs3pr6ye3ya7jg5ty2z

you need a paypal account for the private versions.

Website:
http://bit.ly/medic101

Teamspeak 3: 85.236.101.5:10157

Kalorexoc

  • Relentless Teamkiller
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Editing your Space engineer files for fun!
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2014, 10:11:01 am »
thats the part we all like best .. :icon_laugh

LOL yeah, it can be taken many many ways lol