Author Topic: Force open GPS?  (Read 2597 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

leebeasley

  • Online Villain
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Nyaaa!
    • View Profile
Force open GPS?
« on: July 18, 2012, 01:43:24 am »
Is there any way to force a key press via a script?
I'm trying to open up the GPS via a script and play a video when someone starts my mod-app but I can't seem to get it to work.


Here's a video of what I'm trying to do. It looks like it works flawlessly but the user actually has to press esc a couple times for the video to come up.
Using
Code: [Select]
createDialog "RscMiniMap"; but it requires the player to press esc to get the gps to work properly.  ;w;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zs2hyW4RjzY



PS: How the mother duck do you embed videos into a post? >:l
« Last Edit: July 18, 2012, 02:46:00 am by leebeasley »
I cut corners while running laps in gym class because I'm a fearless bastard.

jcmomo

  • Relentless Teamkiller
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2012, 02:34:53 am »
Oh.my.God. you sir are a genius. idk but I will say this is the ultimate troll this is beautiful.  :icon_cry2
Momo is a homo. Que?

nerfunn

  • Poptart
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2012, 04:41:39 pm »
lol can you force to play the video on other clients?
how do you even play the video?

really this is the ultimate troll :)

MrMedic

  • MasstKer
  • ********
  • Posts: 8900
  • programmer/dev/software engineer
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2012, 05:06:55 pm »
lol that is classic!
EnCoded Message: i3iy9yl8kr2xf3g2Txs3pr6ye3ya7jg5ty2z

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=62_7-AYfdkQ
you need a paypal account for the private versions.

Website:
http://bit.ly/medic101

Teamspeak 3: 85.236.101.5:10157

tranks

  • Intentional Cheater
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2012, 06:22:59 pm »
+1 for the ultimate troll

Buster

  • Klass Klown
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Kool Kat
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2012, 12:14:15 am »
Lol, great original idea, i'll +1 you for that.   :icon_laugh
I dont think you could force it to play on other clients unless you have it in the mission it'self.
Would like to be proved wrong though, as this could pave the way for all sorts of mischief  :icon_devil :icon_devil

stealthstick

  • Klass Klown
  • ***
  • Posts: 360
  • Computer Scientist
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2012, 07:21:56 am »
lol, if you could actually do this, then you might as well send a virus.
It's been a good few years, becoming what I always wanted to be.

fuckthisshit

  • Cheater Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2012, 08:03:06 am »
Well I didn't know this meme so it just felt weird...,  but can we play like some online content or it needs to be embedded to the pbo ? (It feels a dumb question because I'm supposing it's a no but can't have sure)

And I was messing with the Alex.pbo that Gerk updated and I was asking myself if we can play the Ozzy Osboune song on others too.

Just for info this is a gif with a .ogg sound or a real video format?

leebeasley

  • Online Villain
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Nyaaa!
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2012, 09:54:12 am »
Almost everything you need:

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_customGPSvideo

^^


Well I didn't know this meme so it just felt weird...,  but can we play like some online content or it needs to be embedded to the pbo ? (It feels a dumb question because I'm supposing it's a no but can't have sure)

And I was messing with the Alex.pbo that Gerk updated and I was asking myself if we can play the Ozzy Osboune song on others too.

Just for info this is a gif with a .ogg sound or a real video format?

Needs to be in .ogv format. You can change a video's format to .ogv using VLC.

PS. So can you embed videos into a post?
I cut corners while running laps in gym class because I'm a fearless bastard.

MrMedic

  • MasstKer
  • ********
  • Posts: 8900
  • programmer/dev/software engineer
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2012, 04:05:52 pm »
Almost everything you need:

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_customGPSvideo

^^


Well I didn't know this meme so it just felt weird...,  but can we play like some online content or it needs to be embedded to the pbo ? (It feels a dumb question because I'm supposing it's a no but can't have sure)

And I was messing with the Alex.pbo that Gerk updated and I was asking myself if we can play the Ozzy Osboune song on others too.

Just for info this is a gif with a .ogg sound or a real video format?

Needs to be in .ogv format. You can change a video's format to .ogv using VLC.

PS. So can you embed videos into a post?

no.
EnCoded Message: i3iy9yl8kr2xf3g2Txs3pr6ye3ya7jg5ty2z

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=62_7-AYfdkQ
you need a paypal account for the private versions.

Website:
http://bit.ly/medic101

Teamspeak 3: 85.236.101.5:10157

Buster

  • Klass Klown
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Kool Kat
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2012, 12:02:02 am »
From
http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_customGPS
Quote
Following line have to be defined in mission Description.ext:
onMinimapScript[] = {"BIS_fnc_customGPS_Spawn"};
So it wont be possible, unless passed through a mission the way I read it  :icon_sad2

leebeasley

  • Online Villain
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Nyaaa!
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2012, 02:20:55 am »
From
http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_customGPS
Quote
Following line have to be defined in mission Description.ext:
onMinimapScript[] = {"BIS_fnc_customGPS_Spawn"};
So it wont be possible, unless passed through a mission the way I read it  :icon_sad2

It works but if its not in the mission then it gives you a lag spike and the player has to press esc to see the video like i described in the first post.
I cut corners while running laps in gym class because I'm a fearless bastard.

MrMedic

  • MasstKer
  • ********
  • Posts: 8900
  • programmer/dev/software engineer
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2012, 02:25:44 am »
why does it lag? btw the video must be sent over the network or they will get a black screen inside the gps box you do know that right?.

« Last Edit: July 20, 2012, 02:31:42 am by MrMedic »
EnCoded Message: i3iy9yl8kr2xf3g2Txs3pr6ye3ya7jg5ty2z

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=62_7-AYfdkQ
you need a paypal account for the private versions.

Website:
http://bit.ly/medic101

Teamspeak 3: 85.236.101.5:10157

leebeasley

  • Online Villain
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Nyaaa!
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2012, 03:57:00 am »
Doesn't really lag for lack of a better word, the game just kinda freezes up and you cant do anything untill you press esc
I cut corners while running laps in gym class because I'm a fearless bastard.

Buster

  • Klass Klown
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Kool Kat
    • View Profile
Re: Force open GPS?
« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2012, 04:48:01 am »
ok then, post a working version of this and I will give you a fully working, unbanned key for OA  :icon_thumbsup
Promise  :icon_cool2