TKC-Community

Hacking and Art => Vietcong 1 & 2 => Topic started by: mesengr on October 27, 2007, 01:40:44 am

Title: Crosshairs
Post by: mesengr on October 27, 2007, 01:40:44 am
I would like to have me a crosshair in the game, even when I am right-click-aiming or when I am using my binoculars. I tried the crosshairs in the Downloads sections, but that one keeps flickering, and also I cannot toggle it on/off. I know VCHook provides a crosshair, but I cannot ALT+Tab out of the game without it crashing.

I was searching in the game code memory for the instruction where the crosshair with the game-HUD is drawn, but I am having a hard time locating it. Does anyone know where this instruction is, or how to find it? Or does anyone know if there is a better way to get a stable, toggle-able crosshair?
Title: Re: Crosshairs
Post by: ZOldDude on October 27, 2007, 02:04:39 am
Quote
I know VCHook provides a crosshair, but I cannot ALT+Tab out of the game without it crashing.
You can toggle the function off/on with the hotkeys.
If you play in windows mode then you can toggle from VC to anything else you have running in the task bar.
Title: Re: Crosshairs
Post by: Subsky on October 27, 2007, 05:45:48 am
Quote from: mesengr link=topic=6876.msg69733#msg69733
I was searching in the game code memory for the instruction where the crosshair with the game-HUD is drawn, but I am having a hard time locating it. Does anyone know where this instruction is, or how to find it?

Vietcong Console Commands (http://www.pterodon.com/?id=58)

Quote
set srvvm status
status - 0 or 1.

sets Vietnam mode on/off

Use this to find the DMA address/value that controls the HUD so that you can toggle it on/off manually.

Game Deception Forums (http://forum.gamedeception.net/) is another great game hacking site where many talented game hackers share direct3D snippets of code- such as how to create a crosshair like in VCHook.

That should get you started.

Subsky
Title: Re: Crosshairs
Post by: mesengr on October 27, 2007, 05:40:53 pm
set srvvm status ... Use this to find the DMA address/value that controls the HUD so that you can toggle it on/off manually.

I figured this one out already, using the same procedure you posted about joining-as-VC-in-COOP (http://tkc-community.net/forum/index.php?topic=6643.0)  :icon_biggrin2. But the problem still exists, even with the HUD on: when I am using binoculars or right-click-aiming, the crosshair disappears.

Game Deception Forums (http://forum.gamedeception.net/) is another great game hacking site where many talented game hackers share direct3D snippets of code- such as how to create a crosshair like in VCHook.

Thanks a lot for sharing this resource, I will look through it. :icon_thumbsup


On a side note: the address in memory that toggles the HUD never changes, so is it still a DMA address?
Title: Re: Crosshairs
Post by: mReURO on October 27, 2007, 08:44:40 pm
I know VCHook provides a crosshair, but I cannot ALT+Tab out of the game without it crashing.

start vc not in fullscreen mod . then u can go out of game without crashing !
Title: Re: Crosshairs
Post by: ZOldDude on October 27, 2007, 09:41:53 pm
I know VCHook provides a crosshair, but I cannot ALT+Tab out of the game without it crashing.

start vc not in fullscreen mod . then u can go out of game without crashing !

Quote
You can toggle the function off/on with the hotkeys.
If you play in windows mode then you can toggle from VC to anything else you have running in the task bar.
Title: Re: Crosshairs
Post by: mesengr on October 28, 2007, 02:12:38 am
Thank you all for taking the time to reply. I still would prefer a crosshair I could use in Fullscreen mode, because Fullscreen mode gives me better FPS than Windowed mode. I will attempt to create an undetected hook that gives me this functionality, using the resource Subsky posted (that site has a ton of information!).  :icon_cool2
Title: Re: Crosshairs
Post by: Subsky on October 28, 2007, 07:37:59 am
On a side note: the address in memory that toggles the HUD never changes, so is it still a DMA address?

Well technically- the correct name is a global pointer.  Global pointers- as used in the case above; do not usually change where they point, only the value pointed to by address stored them is changed.

You won't get kicked from HRADBA (#138) for modifying the value in a global variable either because it doesn't live in the code section. (lookup the Portable Executable File Format on MSDN for more info).

Subsky
Title: Re: Crosshairs
Post by: mesengr on October 28, 2007, 11:54:04 am
After a long day, I successfully created a DLL and its injector using the D3D Starter Kit. Now, a crosshair is there 100% of the time, I can toggle it on/off, and I can alt+tab out of fullscreen-mode and back in without any problems. Woohoo!   :icon_biggrin2

However, I still need to get around the Hradba #149 detection. After searching this forum, I found two different ways to do this. (1) Same steps as getting VCHook 3 undetected, or (2) Patching hradba.dll to always give a Status:OK. The latter is much more powerful, because using the same technique, I can bypass a lot of other Hradba detections (read Subsky's post (http://tkc-community.net/forum/index.php?topic=5343.msg56125#msg56125) and also his tips (http://tkc-community.net/forum/index.php?topic=6851.msg69581#msg69581)).

Just felt like posting this... maybe it will help someone else in the future.
Title: Re: Crosshairs
Post by: Subsky on October 29, 2007, 12:13:20 am
After a long day, I successfully created a DLL and its injector using the D3D Starter Kit. Now, a crosshair is there 100% of the time, I can toggle it on/off, and I can alt+tab out of fullscreen-mode and back in without any problems. Woohoo!   :icon_biggrin2

However, I still need to get around the Hradba #149 detection. After searching this forum, I found two different ways to do this. (1) Same steps as getting VCHook 3 undetected, or (2) Patching hradba.dll to always give a Status:OK. The latter is much more powerful, because using the same technique, I can bypass a lot of other Hradba detections (read Subsky's post (http://tkc-community.net/forum/index.php?topic=5343.msg56125#msg56125) and also his tips (http://tkc-community.net/forum/index.php?topic=6851.msg69581#msg69581)).

Just felt like posting this... maybe it will help someone else in the future.


Awesome stuff!

You're more than 50% of the way there if you know whats going on in the starter kit- you should use it to start creating wallhacks using model or texture CRC recognition.

In regards to beating HRADBA #149 I'll PM you.

Subsky