TKC-Community

Hacking and Art => Armed Assault 3 => Armed Assault 2 => Topic started by: leebeasley on July 18, 2012, 01:43:24 am

Title: Force open GPS?
Post by: leebeasley on July 18, 2012, 01:43:24 am
Is there any way to force a key press via a script?
I'm trying to open up the GPS via a script and play a video when someone starts my mod-app but I can't seem to get it to work.


Here's a video of what I'm trying to do. It looks like it works flawlessly but the user actually has to press esc a couple times for the video to come up.
Using
Code: [Select]
createDialog "RscMiniMap"; but it requires the player to press esc to get the gps to work properly.  ;w;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zs2hyW4RjzY



PS: How the mother duck do you embed videos into a post? >:l
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: jcmomo on July 18, 2012, 02:34:53 am
Oh.my.God. you sir are a genius. idk but I will say this is the ultimate troll this is beautiful.  :icon_cry2
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: nerfunn on July 18, 2012, 04:41:39 pm
lol can you force to play the video on other clients?
how do you even play the video?

really this is the ultimate troll :)
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: MrMedic on July 18, 2012, 05:06:55 pm
lol that is classic!
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: tranks on July 18, 2012, 06:22:59 pm
+1 for the ultimate troll
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: Buster on July 19, 2012, 12:14:15 am
Lol, great original idea, i'll +1 you for that.   :icon_laugh
I dont think you could force it to play on other clients unless you have it in the mission it'self.
Would like to be proved wrong though, as this could pave the way for all sorts of mischief  :icon_devil :icon_devil
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: stealthstick on July 19, 2012, 07:21:56 am
lol, if you could actually do this, then you might as well send a virus.
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: fuckthisshit on July 19, 2012, 08:03:06 am
Well I didn't know this meme so it just felt weird...,  but can we play like some online content or it needs to be embedded to the pbo ? (It feels a dumb question because I'm supposing it's a no but can't have sure)

And I was messing with the Alex.pbo that Gerk updated and I was asking myself if we can play the Ozzy Osboune song on others too.

Just for info this is a gif with a .ogg sound or a real video format?
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: leebeasley on July 19, 2012, 09:54:12 am
Almost everything you need:

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_customGPSvideo

^^


Well I didn't know this meme so it just felt weird...,  but can we play like some online content or it needs to be embedded to the pbo ? (It feels a dumb question because I'm supposing it's a no but can't have sure)

And I was messing with the Alex.pbo that Gerk updated and I was asking myself if we can play the Ozzy Osboune song on others too.

Just for info this is a gif with a .ogg sound or a real video format?

Needs to be in .ogv format. You can change a video's format to .ogv using VLC.

PS. So can you embed videos into a post?
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: MrMedic on July 19, 2012, 04:05:52 pm
Almost everything you need:

http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_customGPSvideo

^^


Well I didn't know this meme so it just felt weird...,  but can we play like some online content or it needs to be embedded to the pbo ? (It feels a dumb question because I'm supposing it's a no but can't have sure)

And I was messing with the Alex.pbo that Gerk updated and I was asking myself if we can play the Ozzy Osboune song on others too.

Just for info this is a gif with a .ogg sound or a real video format?

Needs to be in .ogv format. You can change a video's format to .ogv using VLC.

PS. So can you embed videos into a post?

no.
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: Buster on July 20, 2012, 12:02:02 am
From
http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_customGPS
Quote
Following line have to be defined in mission Description.ext:
onMinimapScript[] = {"BIS_fnc_customGPS_Spawn"};
So it wont be possible, unless passed through a mission the way I read it  :icon_sad2
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: leebeasley on July 20, 2012, 02:20:55 am
From
http://community.bistudio.com/wiki/BIS_fnc_customGPS
Quote
Following line have to be defined in mission Description.ext:
onMinimapScript[] = {"BIS_fnc_customGPS_Spawn"};
So it wont be possible, unless passed through a mission the way I read it  :icon_sad2

It works but if its not in the mission then it gives you a lag spike and the player has to press esc to see the video like i described in the first post.
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: MrMedic on July 20, 2012, 02:25:44 am
why does it lag? btw the video must be sent over the network or they will get a black screen inside the gps box you do know that right?.

Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: leebeasley on July 20, 2012, 03:57:00 am
Doesn't really lag for lack of a better word, the game just kinda freezes up and you cant do anything untill you press esc
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: Buster on July 21, 2012, 04:48:01 am
ok then, post a working version of this and I will give you a fully working, unbanned key for OA  :icon_thumbsup
Promise  :icon_cool2
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: leebeasley on July 21, 2012, 05:05:02 am
I play on LAN servers ._.
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: leebeasley on August 03, 2012, 11:29:45 am
Just found this... better than the other video? ^^

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yO7MWuJ7zLA&feature=player_embedded#at=50

Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: jcmomo on August 03, 2012, 12:15:10 pm
Omg,  :icon_cry2 its....beautiful  :icon_thumbsup umm i think the second is better but both are just retarded :P
Title: Re: Force open GPS?
Post by: fuckthisshit on July 29, 2013, 10:28:17 am
http://opendayz.net/threads/gps-video-on-start-tutorial-pictures.12074/

Took them an entire year to do the same, and I think this guy hangs around here, he used even the same video... So congrats to leebeasley, inspiring new generations  :icon_biggrin2